Home > Friends > Lovable Rascals

Lovable Rascals

You have heard the term before. Girls adore one and it follows that guys want to be one. Movies want to portray them. Remember Karthik in Mouna Raagam or Shah Rukh in DDLJ. See the difference a simple adjective can make to a not-so-nice word. Though I doubt I can become one fully, I have always played a part-time role of a rascal. More than that, I have always had good associations with one such rascal at school or college. It was Class 8. We had a new boy in our class, one who had joined our Hindu co-ed school from a Christian boys school the previous year and had failed to pass. A teacher means a lady in most parts of my town and so it was only teachers in our conservative school. This guy always had red eyes. He would booze and smoke, not to mention the various things he taught our ‘nice’ guys. Strangely, a girl in our senior class fell in love with him. It was one time I felt that things in real life imitate the ones in the movies. Here is an evil guy with all the bad habits in the world and a girl actually falls in love with him. Maybe, he was her lovable rascal.

But the ones I get associated are typically bank-benchers, witty, last-rankers and sometimes do charm girls with an ease. If it was Senthil in my Class 8, it was Siva in Class 12 and Lingesh at college. I hit off pretty nicely with these guys. I am not sure if they fit into a ‘classical’ definition of a lovable rascal, they are still my lovable rascals. Senthil, the policekaaran magan (son of a policeman), was brought up by his strict mother. He washed his clothes when we were in Class 8. I was a mother’s pet as long as I was at home, not even bothering to eat my own food myself. I envied him able to do most of his things himself. He took me to his home on the beach, just opposite the Collector’s home and we had a great time watching the waves lash the sides of his home.He did not study well, but our relationship thrived well after he failed in Class 9. I was in touch till I was in Bangalore.

Siva had just taken over his dad’s lathe shop and just wanted to pass his Plus Two exams. He had cordial relationships with all the teachers (oops, sirs) in the boys school I was now studying. He was forever late to the classes, never did the assignments and even got the questions for future exams from the teachers themselves. He had a hectic time running the business alongwith doing his schooling. But we were friends. He used to study at my home, help himself to the puffs (patties in Indore) my amma treats me and take me to all the nice parotta joints in our town. Ask Rani about the lovely parottas Thoothukudi is famous for.

Lingesh is another of those lovable rascals I am pals with. It is always one guy at a stage in my life. Lingesh is from Nagercoil, with those Mallu touch (malayala karai oram) fresh in him. Once he joined the famous civil engineering college in the state, he enjoyed himself just like so many and got into most of the playful things one could do. But he was so nice at heart. One girl in our class adored him and did so many things for him. I felt nostalgic. But both of us were good friends. We used to go together to the lunch pizza buffets at Pizza Time, to the Shakes and Creams juice parlour in Adyar and treat each other. A month ago, this lovable rascal called me from Dubai where he works as a civil engineer.

What memories it evokes when I think of the nice times I had all with these sweet people. They taught me the other side of things, how life evolves if you have a strict family, if you don’t have it in you to study, if you have to run a business at a young age, if you get influenced early and leave it to fate to run you. Do you have any ‘rascals’?

Categories: Friends
  1. gopi
    22 October 2005 at 12:57 pm

    whether you had any chance to get promoted from rascal to lovable rascal ?

  2. SK
    22 October 2005 at 3:07 pm

    I am glad I married mine :–)

  3. 23 October 2005 at 3:34 am

    tough to imagine k as the lovable rascal 😉 gopi. i hope you like this comments section. it allows long rants, logs in your IP and i got to moderate it the first time. btw, do you call me a rascal?

  4. gopi
    14 November 2005 at 6:42 am

    yes, very much.

  5. Me
    14 November 2005 at 7:54 am

    so what makes u think that u are a part time rascal ? just ur assoc with rascals …. or u have a baasha side too 🙂

  6. 15 November 2005 at 4:17 am

    me, gopi vouches that i am a rascal. there lies the proof 🙂 my school teachers will certainly tell you that i am one naughty boy, the lovable rascal! all my friends whom i tease endlessly will also say the same thing, though i feel i have shed some of that loveableness and have become more serious as i grow old and so the part-time tag.

  7. 24 October 2005 at 7:54 am

    yuppie. now this blog is in IST. i was in a spot trying to customise the time option, from 5.30 to +530 to +5.3 and now it is the right one +5.5hours. wordpress enables you to preview the blog time and i was so dumb to see that. 😦

  8. Jax
    24 October 2005 at 10:21 am

    Only a rascal can acknowledge another rascal. Isn’t it true, Gopi?

  9. Gopi
    24 October 2005 at 11:57 am

    My second comment was placed in a worst place. It is supposed to be after spark’s first comment and there, my 2nd would have looked good. But unfortunately, it ended up in after Jax’s first comment.
    For other readers, don’t think that I answered yes for Jax’s comment, infact I answered for spark’s first comment.

  10. Gopi
    24 October 2005 at 12:00 pm

    Confusions in placement of comments. This comment should have been added at the end but it found its place somewhere middle.
    spark mend your comment section… I suppose all this because you tampered with time zone.

  11. 24 October 2005 at 12:12 pm

    my apologies for tampering with the time zone. i see comments dated november. the others are in order. gopi, this doesn’t change the fact that you are a torchbearer :-p

  12. Gopi
    24 October 2005 at 2:10 pm

    yes, i agree for me being called torchbearer, pathfinder etc etc

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

