Home > Family, Friends, Travel > sparkling wishes

sparkling wishes

Recently, one of my friends asked me if I am going home for Deepavali. I wondered, “What home? What Deepavali?” If there is one thing an MBA at a prestigious institute ensures is that you forget what it means to have holidays. We have classes on the day of the festival! Once a term starts, time just flies and the only holidays are 26 Jan, 15 Aug and 2 Oct. During my college and work days, Pongal and Deepavali were always at home. Except for two of my birthdays, I spent my precious birthdays at home with Abi or/and my parents.

I am not one of those souls who miss home so much. In fact, there are times when I go for long stretches when I don’t speak to any of them. Three months is the maximum time I have had, without seeing one of them. This time it is different. My third birthday away. My first Deepavali away. I will see them next, probably in the middle of next year. This means a gap of almost 9 months. They ask me if I have got new dresses. It’s been quite some time since I have bought new dresses for occasions. I get them whenever I feel like. Jo got a new shirt for me last on one of my birthdays.

Deepavali reminds me of my bus rides back home. Tickets at KPN were always at a premium. You never know when they start their bookings. There would be some one you know in the bus and the night was spent chatting. The bus always takes a long time to get out of Bangalore, through the Silk Board junction and Electronic City. What a relief it is to read Tamil after the border. Supper most often at Hosur at a Saravana Bhavan(not the original one)! As it gets more dark, the noise of the crackers reminds you of the festival. After a unusually dumb movie, the bus stops at Salem. An early morning tea break after Virudhunagar. As it dawns, I stare at all the posters of the movies that are released today, making a note of which one to see later that day. I always take the bus to Tirunelveli, because there were no direct private buses. Getting down at Tirunelveli or Kovilpatti and catching a bus home, I end up at my home by 9.

After emptying my dirty clothes and the sweets, it is time to feast on idlis and vadas, all the while watching the Deepavali special programs. Abi checks up my purse for unusual stuff. I always wonder what she expects to find in that. Amma feels my hand, happy to see me. Appa asks me about the journey, very typical of him and Thatha gorges on my sweets. I call up my friends who are also at home and we fix which movie to see for the day. Biryani time for lunch. It is a habit to watch a movie on the first day with the crowd in the theatres of the town. If the theatre allows, we whistle, hoot and behave like hooligans. We sometimes go to the beach after the movie and have tasty parottas.

The train back is fully packed, with people from Tirunelveli, Kovilpatti, Sattur, Virudhunagar and Madurai, all boarding on the way. Macroons or murukkus, we happily chat, look at the charts, walk through the lengths of the compartments for several times and pull each other happily. Some times it is cards or it is plain ogling at the playful couple, who don’t mind having public displays of affection. Aavin milk at Kodai Road to wind up the day. Every one is reminded of work for the next day. When you get down at Bangalore Cantonment and hear the Kannada auto drivers speaking Bangalore Tamil with an aamavaa, everything is forgotten and it is a fresh day in Bangalore.

Happy Deepavali folks!

Categories: Family, Friends, Travel
  1. 30 October 2005 at 5:27 pm

    Sema sentiaaa?? Happy Diwali to you too! 😉

  2. gopi
    2 November 2005 at 12:13 pm

    wish you a very happy deepavali – arun.
    hope you enjoyed your self at indore on diwali……

  3. 2 November 2005 at 5:31 pm

    thanks govar. gopi, yes, i certainly enjoyed my first deepavali here with songs, food and crackers all so festively.

  4. J
    2 November 2005 at 7:42 pm

    Nice post 🙂 Good to know that u enjoyed !

  5. SK
    2 November 2005 at 8:15 pm

    Happy Diwali!

  6. A
    3 November 2005 at 12:16 am

    Happy Diwali!

  7. 3 November 2005 at 5:07 pm

    thanks girls and hope you had a great deepavali too 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

