Home > Me > 20 minutes

20 minutes

After 005 has tagged 007, here is a Dummies’ guide to me. I start this at 4pm and I shall write whatever I can in 20 minutes, edit it later and post it.

  1. These days, I feel like a hypocrite. I need a separate post to explain it, when I feel like.
  2. After seeing the Motorcycle Diaries recently, I have liked South America better. It was always my dream destination, the Copa Cabana beach, the land of Maradona, the domain of beauty queens from Venezuela. Some day, I will go there.
  3. I like to keep my inbox clean. That translates to no unread mails.
  4. This blog has become an extension of my letters. Now I don’t have to mass-mail people, just like wordpress advertises. My old readers like Abi and Ramya, who I used to write letters till the time I was in Bangalore, are yet to adopt this medium though.
  5. I don’t believe in (hard) work. I can only work for a limited time.
  6. I write more than I talk šŸ˜‰
  7. I love train journeys any time, with a book and a close friend so we can sit at the stairs in the night and whisper tales to each other.
  8. I can adjust to any place quickly. At least, that’s what I think.
  9. I am a simple boy who wants to make a lasting splash, not a dash to the end.
  10. I am so wedded to the concept of travel, applying it to life too not getting too involved or passionate about any thing. Thatha appreciated me for it. Only I know how I suffer when I get attached.
  11. I remember telling Abi once that I won’t suit an MBA as it requires talking too much. Now I can only laugh over it.
  12. At the end of the day, time is the only gift I can give my well-wishers. Call me stingy.
  13. Food and books, as most of you know, keep me going. Await a post on the eateries in Indore I have been to.
  14. I haven’t bought a single book in Indore, not even a magazine.
  15. Not in my dreams I would have thought I would like Iranian films. I have avoided ‘classic’ arts films and preferred to see Tamil movies which I understand better. ‘Children of Heaven‘ has made me yearn for more.
  16. I am an early boy, early to sleep and early to rise. I have done this at all times, in Guindy, at work and here too.
  17. I have tried my hand at cooking and I used to carry my lunch to office. Ah, I inspired one of my female married friends to start cooking too.
  18. I used to be mad about word games – Scrabble, the Hindu crossword and similar things. Now I only do the Jumble sometimes.
  19. I have been collecting articles on growing children ever since college, especially the ones by Aruna of Indian Express. Reading is not the real thing, it’s the doing.
  20. It is 4.20 now and all I can say is I am not a man of 20 minutes.
Categories: Me
  1. sk
    6 December 2005 at 6:51 pm

    Cool! :–)
    >>I love train journeys any time, with a book and a close friend so we can sit at the stairs in the night and whisper tales to each other.
    Please tell me that the close friend is who I think it is. šŸ˜‰

  2. 6 December 2005 at 8:26 pm

    if you think it is him, you are probably right! if you think it is her, you could be right as well šŸ™‚

  3. gopi
    6 December 2005 at 9:03 pm

    6) You question more than you write.
    7) I really feel sad when I think about the people with whom you want to travel.
    8) It would be appropriate to replace “adjust to” by “change”.

  4. Me
    6 December 2005 at 10:15 pm

    i always keep my mail acct clean…read reply delete…..i just have 5 emails in my acct….:)

    food keeps me going…books …no

  5. A
    6 December 2005 at 10:48 pm

    Wow! Nice list. I agree with the “keep inbox clean” policy too. I think I have some OCD abt checking email. And of course, train journeys are out of this world too!

  6. 7 December 2005 at 12:33 pm

    gopi, romba comedy panre šŸ™‚

    me, in the early days of yahoo, i was like that. min. emails. after work where you are supposed to have every mail as proof and after 1gb of storage, am no longer concerned with the number of mails. but strictly no unread mails for me. all junk and unimportant mails are trashed at the first chance.

    a, i had to google for what ocd is šŸ™‚ btw, my next train journey is coming up in 10 days. i’ll be travelling 36hrs by train to reach home.

  7. 7 December 2005 at 4:41 pm

    Sophie’s World is one of my all time fav books. And I regret not having read it before. And Motorcycle Diaries, did you see the ruins of Machchu Pichu? Very picturesque. And that’s a very very subtle movie I loved watching.

  8. Me
    8 December 2005 at 9:02 am

    i returned the book to the library without reading it fully….will check out again this week…

  9. 8 December 2005 at 1:38 pm

    welcome precious. sophie’s world is one of the few books i have carried here. our library has a few other books of gaarder. i recently read “Through a glass, darkly”. it was good, but i felt something missing. maybe i am biased by sophie’s world. pretty similar plot – a child talks to an angel instead of a real philosopher here and wonders (??) about the world on that side of death!

    sk, are you listening? i rem you commenting on precious’s space that you would read it. did you do so?

    me boy, have you ever read philo’sophie’?

  10. sk
    8 December 2005 at 7:39 pm

    Errr spark, K said I should buy more books, _only_ after I am done reading the ones I have already bought. :–( No point buying them and storing them away in the attic for the rodents to feast on.
    So havent gotten the book yet. I havent forgetten about it either.

    Let me get some time to breathe, and sleep, and I will think about reading!

    Boy! you sure keep a tab on what I am upto, dont you? ;–))

  11. 9 December 2005 at 1:15 pm

    sk, i wonder why you listen to k at all!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

