Home > Books > Book reading and recommendation tool?

Book reading and recommendation tool?

I have been using All Consuming to save my list of read books. I have not been very impressed with it, though. I cannot recommend books to my friends using it. I am stuck, call it the lack of alternatives. Jax, a book fan himself with a neat online bookshelf, recommended Chain Reading (in Development wow) to me. Looking further for similar tools, I chanced upon Library Thing (in Beta huh).

Evaluating the three, I can say that AC is woefully out of date. I had added Archana and Jax as my friends so I can see the books they read. The best thing about CR is you can store an unlimited number of books. Other features include your suggestions to friends, your recommendations and of course, the list of books you have read. But it is not a Web2.0 application. LR boasts that it is like Flickr, my favourite online photos tool (recommended by Alex), has tags, a graphical shelf and is linked to Amazon. But the catch is you can only store 200 books free. I wish Google buys it and makes it fully free πŸ˜‰ Do you guys know similar tools? I am waiting.

Update: I signed up with CR late night, pretty impressed by the list it offers. Jerret of CR clarifies below in a comment about the various features of CR. So far, so good! Jax has brought out his old forgotten post on CR today. It contains a comprehensive list of what’s there and what he wants.

Categories: Books
  1. 9 December 2005 at 1:52 am

    hey now, chainreading is a “web 2.0” application as much as anything else is! CR has tags, the book listing pages are all graphical, and it’s linked to amazon as well πŸ™‚

    That said It’s missing a lot like reviews, more robust (and visible) tagging, and cleaner profile page tying this stuff together. Friends lists… related books, etc. It’s all comming πŸ™‚

    I’m curious though, what makes you think it’s not a Web 2.0 app? The whole web2.0 thing is kind of ambigious. It’s just using current technologies to make a website. If Web2.0 means using things like AJAX, Web Services, etc… Then CR is definitly a web2.0 app. I don’t really care how it’s labeled, what I’m more curious about is what you feel it’s missing… features that could be better, etc.

    Let me know any observations. Like everyone else out there, I’m trying to make the best site I can to serve these needs… If you are still looking for similar tools, that means CR is missing something or doing something wrong, or that others are doing better – tell me what it is so I can fix it, add it, or tweak it! you can email me at jerrett at gmail. I’d love to hear your feedback.

    What I really need to do is get a forum up so people can bounce ideas around ;]

    To answer your question, some other sites doing the same thing are reader2.com and listal.com

  2. 9 December 2005 at 7:05 am

    hello jerrett, thanks for your time being here. you must have noticed i’d signed up with CR. i agree this web2.0 thing is kinda ambiguous. my techie instincts are getting poorer by the day. after i signed up, i realised that you’ve links with amazon, tags and use ajax, making it more of a web2.0 thing. maybe, the feel is missing, the way you organise photos in flickr and the fancy tag cloud thing. it’s a case of ignorance. thanks for the clarifications.

    great work, btw. i’ll continue to use it and suggest changes whenever i feel like. maybe the size of the user base gives me a wrong picture. πŸ™‚

  3. Jax
    9 December 2005 at 10:26 am

    Good to hear that a lot of features are in the pipeline.

  4. 9 December 2005 at 10:52 am

    I too am appalled at AC. Very primitive. Had registered with CR, but have not explored it yet. hope there is a feature to import all your entries from AC

  5. Jax
    9 December 2005 at 11:21 am

    I think as of now there is no way to import entries. It would be a boon for me πŸ˜‰

  6. 9 December 2005 at 1:17 pm

    symphoney, i’ll now make more use of CR. i was filling AC like a chore. i hated the date filling thing very much, but i used to do it. i know you’d have read jax’s post by now.

  7. 9 December 2005 at 10:24 pm

    Like i said in my blog – import is coming πŸ™‚ I’ve a ticket list setup on http:/dev.chainreading.com for those that are curious…

    Feel free to add tickets with feature requests, ideas, or bugs.

    A big chunk of the stuff there currently is technical stuff, and once those have been ironed out I will clean up the trac setup to make proper categories (bugs, feature requests, ideas for research, etc) and make it more publicly accessible (along with putting a real blog on chainreading, instead of just using jerrett.net) so that all users can contribute… and setup a forum for discussions.

    But for now, there it is.. feel free to poke around ;]

  8. 9 December 2005 at 10:43 pm

    Also, I checked out jax’s post and wrote up a reply.. but his blog won’t accept replies, so i posted it as a new post on my blog: http://jerrett.net/entry/reply_to_jax

  9. Jax
    9 December 2005 at 11:10 pm

    Thanks Jerret. Will look into it.

  1. 9 December 2005 at 12:32 pm

Leave a Reply

