Home > Friends > My blog mates

My blog mates

Abi always checks my purse when I get home. Some day, she expects to catch me with a girl’s photo. I should plant one for the heck of it. The other day Jo was bored and pestered me with who the ‘characters’ on my blog are. After a good laugh over her choice of words, I proceeded to tell her about all my blog mates. Since it is the year end, I will repeat the same here.

Mooku is my schoolmate. When he first saw me in Class 8, he considered me a useless creature. He later realised he was wrong. That was when he was really wrong. He boasted that he could cycle to Tiruchendur (40km from Tuticorin) and back in less than a hour. After a few years at MS, he is now at least real.

A, after her initials, was 970005 at Guindy and I was at 007. We were classmates from our first semester. At Guindy, we get into the discipline from the second semester. As she happened to be so ‘close’ to me, she was one of the few girls I had spoken in college. We were together in a few projects. She pepped the two of us in our three-member team for our first speaking assignment at college. I think, it was some comprehension course. I discovered her again through Technorati. She was always a letterly girl. Her posts are long and a treat to read.

Gopi, known as a torchman to my Guindy friends, has always remained a Kovilpatti boy at heart. My wingmate in my final year, he is another of his kind.

Saranya is the friend of my best wife wife of my best friend Kishore, his Rani. After marriage, he and I have not spoken at all. πŸ™‚ She must be a good wife. She writes from her heart and she is my best friend’s favourite blogger.

J is Rani’s sounding board, I think. She, Rani and Kishore were at Chromepet. I would have spoken to her a couple of times there. When I met her at Kishore’s marriage, it seemed as if we were buddies who haven’t met for a long time.

Jo is the first girl I called a bitch (on her face) and we remain mutual pets ever after.

Symphoney and I joined work at the same time, fresh from campus. He is a sweet chap just like the Coimbatore Tamil he speaks. He used to be a gym freak, the only thing I remember about him.

Jax is the good man Alex’s good cousin. He has gifted me several things, like a first day last seat at PVR Bangalore for Chandramukhi and a WordPress account (when it was invite-only). His now-revamped bookshelf is one-of-its-kind and worth a visit.

Me probably met me on Rani’s blog. He shares my love for South Indian food and a disinterest for some of these campus events. He is the only one I haven’t met. I know little about him. He must have studied in Arlington.

Blogs are a part of my life. The secret thrill of reading others’ diaries is now gone, the many things that I think of posting, the stupid stories that I force on you, the laughs that cheer some of my days, yes, this’s the online diary for me. Here is wishing all my blog mates a wonderful 2006 and many more posts and comments from all of us.

Update:

Of course, as some one who remembers only the most recent things in his life significantly, I forgot to mention Alex and Saravana, two of my regular readers who haven’t commented in a while. Alex is my first yogi and he has occupied my mind ever since our free days at a three-star hotel called Capitol when we came to Bangalore to become geeks. Saravana from Namakkal (read like the Dhanush’s movie name) and I competed to be the coolest boys of our batch in Guindy and he walked away with the title easily. I have hardly seen him ruffled. There are plenty of silent souls on my blog (most of them being my Indore classmates) whom I wish a pleasant and patient fifteen more months with me.

Categories: Friends
  1. A
    30 December 2005 at 11:53 pm

    Nice to meet all the “characters” :-)! Wishing you a wonderful 2006 ahead too!

  2. 31 December 2005 at 4:30 am

    Just for the record, let me introduce myself. was Arun’s roommate for about a year ? Just joined egroups. Good to see you write.

  3. Saravanan
    31 December 2005 at 7:09 am

    dei sagar gopi torchman illada. he is the torchbearer of ceg. πŸ˜‰

    sherif ? district opening player ?

  4. Saravanan
    31 December 2005 at 7:09 am

    Happy New Year !!

  5. Me
    31 December 2005 at 7:28 am

    oh man…do i need to say i am flattered on seeing me in β€˜characters’ list…:)

    anyways Happy New Year sparkey…have fun..

  6. 31 December 2005 at 7:35 am

    vaanga mr.sherif, palayamkottai pista, enge da irukke ippo? had a look at your empty blog πŸ™‚ why don’t you be more active in cse2001?

    saravana, happy new year to you too.

    Me, inge sila per nee ponnu nu ninaichittu irukkaanga. enna panlaam?

  7. Alex
    31 December 2005 at 12:53 pm

    Wish you a very Happy New Year!!

  8. 31 December 2005 at 1:45 pm

    alex nicea vandaalum nachnu varuve, illa?

  9. gopi
    31 December 2005 at 2:37 pm

    hi Sherif, I propose to change your blog as “In this blog lies nothing” instead of “In the middle of difficulty lies oppurtunity”. Anyway, good to hear from you. [misplaced comment]

    Wish you a very happy new year.

  10. sherif
    2 January 2006 at 6:38 am

    arun , cse2001 la photo va pottu manathai vangitiyada

  11. jo
    3 January 2006 at 2:20 am

    Have a great 2006 folks!

  12. 3 January 2006 at 8:47 pm

    hello thaslim, neenga enna panreenga nu ellorum ketkaradukku aavala irukkom?

  13. 3 January 2006 at 9:26 pm

    Making a humble living as a developer in waco,texas.

  14. 5 January 2006 at 9:21 pm

    Hey, that is a cool post da ! Well, I still am a gym-freak. I freak out when anyone says ‘GYM’ πŸ˜›

    BTW, did you know that Jax and I are buddies from school ?

  15. J
    22 January 2006 at 11:51 pm

    oii spark, long time intha pakkam vanthu. felt really happy to see my name too in this list. thanks thanks πŸ™‚ mmm konjam romba excite aayiten la πŸ™‚ college’la 2/3 times thaan pesi iruken, but blog’la thaan nalla therinjuthu, so virtual’a pesitu nerala paatha udanae excite aayiten :p
    take care!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

