Home > Books > Just another day

Just another day

2005 went past and 2006 is in. It is the second day of the new year and it already feels like the same thing. I have become less organised and lazier too. I slept for nine hours through New Year’s eve, conveniently immune to the supposedly happening party. My attendance record at parties anywhere is miserable, to say the least. I don’t step out of my room past 11 unless it is an earthquake. But if it is the day, I am up and bouncing, ready to go anywhere. On the 1st, one of our Mallu boys here discovers a Mallu mess, rather a Kerala restaurant, in Mhow. Mhow is about 10km away and we proceed for lunch. I prefer Mallu tiffin items to rice and so I am satisfied with the Kerala parathas we get. How can I forget the great fish that we have? I sleep for some more time, fully utilising the rest I get. Late in the evening, one of my wingmates treats us at a three-star hotel’s restuarant. Eat and sleep seems to be the motto of the first day.

One post to start the New Year is a list of the four books I borrowed from our library (the maximum they allow).

  1. Purple Cow
  2. Only Love is Real
  3. Midnight’s Children
  4. The Salmon of Doubt

Purple Cow is a compilation of blog posts by a new age marketing man called Seth Godin. Though I have been reading his blog for some time, I didn’t know his book is a compilation of his posts. He brings a fresh perspective to marketing, which is the most mis-understood discipline of the lot. He writes about Permission Marketing in an earlier book and Unleashing the Idea Virus in another. Purple Cow is about innovations in marketing and it is a remarkable book as it advertises.

Only Love is Real is about regression (past life) therapy. I needed a quick read for the long train journeys. Incidentally I reach home after 42 hours and one of my friends in the US wonders if Indore is farther than St.Louis from Thoothukudi. A psychotherapist writes this book (an excerpt here) and suffixes it as a story of soulmates reunited. As a firm believer of the conspiracy theory of soulmates (multiple too) and having read books like The Bridge Across Forever, I liked the pace of the book. But I still doubt the existence of past lives or rather the communication across lives and wondered the genuineness of the tales told in the book. Abi liked the book too.

Midnight’s Children is easily my pick of the lot. A Salman Rushdie novel, it is very much a Bollywood tale written using the choicest of words. It travels from Kashmir to Delhi to Agra to Bombay to Karachi and a lot through North India. It twists history in a delightful way and fully deserves the Booker of Bookers it won. It belongs to a genre called magic realism and I am still waiting for a similar book (my gift of) 100 Years in Solitude, which she promised to send me six months back.

The Salmon of Doubt is the last book of Douglas Adams. It is a posthumous collection of his writings, interviews and a last novel not in the HitchHikers‘ series, published after he died earlier than expected. I loved the whole lot of H2G2 for its brilliant satire of various things in the universe. This book remains a good farewell to his wicked way of writing.

May there be good books in the new year and you read more in 2006!

Categories: Books
  1. Jax
    3 January 2006 at 2:32 pm

    Finish Love is Real and let me know if it as good as The Bridge Across Forever…
    You recommended Midnight’s Children. I’ll take it up this year…
    Happy Reading…

  2. Me
    4 January 2006 at 10:11 am

    i slept more than 10hrs, ate at diff indian restaurants, saw a movie daily and did nothing useful last 4 days….

    Me, inge sila per nee ponnu nu ninaichittu irukkaanga. enna panlaam?

    ada paavingala …wondering what makes them think that…

  3. 4 January 2006 at 1:29 pm

    hey jax, only love is real is okay not great. if you wanna read about a mix of soulmates and regression therapy, you go ahead. wish you a wonderful year of reading too and hope you break your century targets!

    Me, wow. nee oruthan daan ennai maadhiriye irukke 😉 sleep, eat, the way to a new year

  4. sk
    4 January 2006 at 7:42 pm

    Hi there Sparkie!
    Happy New Year!

    Dude, I can ask K to call you if you want ;–)
    Bought Sophie’s World, at the pretext of reading during our holiday, read a few pages, before hopping to Focault’s Pendulum, now rendum hanging in mid air, will hopefully complete it by this year end ;–D

  5. 5 January 2006 at 9:22 pm

    Just completed ‘A Brief History of Time’ by Stehen Hawkings

  6. A
    5 January 2006 at 10:11 pm

    Ah, I thought I had posted a comment but it seems to have disappeared. I have read “salmon of doubt” – I think I liked it. I borrowed a *whole* bunch of books from the library thinking that I would read them *all* during the xmas/new year break. But of course, that did not happen. So now have to return them all in view of my upcoming vacation. Greedy me!

  7. 6 January 2006 at 5:23 pm

    focault’s pendulum. umberto eco is in my reading list too. jax has read most of his books, i think. hafta read them.

    symphoney, i read a brief history of time in college. it was so heavy 🙂 my physics is weak

    A, i guess you are excited for your home trip. shopping during the xmas break? i saw some of your recent pics hosted by phy1445.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

