Home > Books, Bschool > Structured thinking

Structured thinking

Some time back, I asked Bhu, one of my good friends from CEG, “What is the single thing he learnt from his US MBA”? He is in his final year at bschool and is done with his placements. He replied, “Structured thinking or thinking through a problem from different perspectives”. I replied with a :p emoticon. Many friends rightly blame me for being sarcastic most of the times. Bhu also asked me if I was being sarcastic. To be frank, I did not think highly of structured thinking, especially as the one benefit of an MBA. Do we need an MBA for that? Don’t we all think in an organised manner when it concerns us most? Later I wondered what structured thinking could mean. I am so picky about definition, aren’t I? Maybe, it was his top-of-mind-association (thanks to my MBA) when I asked him. Breaking down a problem into its several components and deciding on the important ones is probably what he meant. I did not think much about it.

But as I started to read the Mckinsey Mind, the first chaper was on how to frame your thinking. Thinking in frames is the first thing a consultant at the Firm (refers to Mckinsey) will learn. Now structured thinking made sense to me. A friend tells me and I dismiss the idea. A book tells me the same thing and sets me thinking. How stupid of me! The last time I experienced thinking in frames was at a very useful innovation workshop by Erehwhon, for fairly experienced geeks. It was a revelation. But as with most corporate training programs, I haven’t put it to much use. To break out of my monotony, I must apply my brains a little more. Jo chided me that I don’t think and I wondered how she reads me clear quite a lot of times. Mee tells me my writing has improved over the half year and I really don’t know how. I felt better as she said that. But has my thought process really improved here? Yes, it must be because there is no alternative.

Categories: Books, Bschool
  1. sk
    27 January 2006 at 8:46 am

    I have heard of Structured problem solving. Are they similar?

  1. 17 January 2009 at 8:39 am

Leave a Reply

