Home > Society > Bloody gift

Bloody gift

I have a fear of needles just as many kids do. My doctors always knew I hated injections. Every time, they compared me with Abi who was fearless most of the times. In fact, my family doctor at home ensures that she always injects painlessly in my hip. She is so considerate of my arms and my fear. Whenever I get sick out of town, I don’t have a choice. I must say I have grown up(!) to allow myself to be injected ever since I have been in Guindy. But whenever I get sick at home, I let myself be pampered by my doctor who always keeps my fear top on her mind. I shall be the same little boy for all of them there.

Blood is another thing I used to fear. The first time I saw a goat being slaughtered at one of the temple festivals in my granddad’s village, I stopped eating mutton for 3 months. I hated the experiments with rats in our biology classes. I only listened to the different stories that people said about those experiments. In fact, I did not want to take up medicine primarily because of these two fears deep rooted in me and of course my aversion of drawings. I have always opted for the easy way out, never the one to do (hard) work.

College and blood donation have a perfect correlation. It is when you cross 18 that you become eligible to donate blood. Every collegian enjoys the time he crosses 18. One of my collegemates wanted to host a site which listed all donors in the country. One easy NSS activity was having a blood camp. There must have been a lot of blood camps during our college days. There were countless jokes about the juices, the fruits and the biscuits you get when you donate. The fear of the prick was always greater than my urge to donate. Abi beat me to this too. She proudly told me she donated blood at her college. I simply let any news of blood camps through my ears. I don’t remember any such event when I was at Bangalore. I’d have ignored the news.

It is the time of the annual blood camp at our bschool too. The first note about the camp, the instructions for the same and the multiple reminders did not create much impact on me. I shrugged it as I have always done in the last 8 years. At class, I turned around and asked a few of my neighbours. All of a sudden I realise that there are a lot of folks who share my fear of the needle’s prick. Well, I decided to be different. How naive I had been to think that I had been different in donating. With that, I took the plunge and join the hordes of bloody people who have been fearlessly donating their blood ever since they turned major.

At the camp today, I volunteered to be in the second lot. I was anxious. I was happy to find myself weighing 65kg. It felt different to lie on the bed. The fellow gave me a red object to grip. The prick was uneventful. But surprisingly my blood was flowing slower than normal. It must also have been hesitant. My anxiety decreased on seeing my neighbour who was so excited to donate blood fast. I gripped the red object tightly to make the flow faster. After a few minutes, I was done. I was still anxious to an extent. After some rest, I got the juice and the oranges. Yes. I have donated blood for the first time at 26. I hope, my change continues!

Categories: Society
  1. gopi
    30 January 2006 at 8:40 pm

    thi5 theme i5 nice

  2. sk
    31 January 2006 at 8:45 am

    Page looks awesome! New look

  3. Jax
    31 January 2006 at 9:28 am

    Congrats on dontating blood for the first time. Maybe someday, I too will…

  4. Me
    31 January 2006 at 10:44 am

    somehow i am still hesitant in donating blood….one day i might…

    new template….looks ok…but i liked the prev one…

  5. 31 January 2006 at 1:39 pm

    am experimenting with the new themes. it’s the first prick that’s the hurdle. i hardly felt anything as the blood flowed into the bag! most times, we choose not to do something without even trying. don’t we? certainly that thing applies to me a lot of times. this blood donation is one odd event where i overcame my inertia πŸ™‚

  6. Me
    5 February 2006 at 1:31 am

    enna sparkey romba naala aalaye kaanam…..busy…exams??

  7. 5 February 2006 at 8:18 am

    hey me, just posted πŸ™‚ mid-term exams starting this week. hope to post more then πŸ˜‰

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

