Home > Bschool > Likeable talks

Likeable talks

Our school has the best of both worlds. Being a quasi-government institution, it gets high priority for governmental functions. Being a bschool ensures that industry also regards it highly. We have had some immensely interesting talks from the policy makers of the nation and the influential businessmen apart from the academicians.

Of all the talks, I liked the one by Dr. Rakesh Mohan, the RBI Deputy Governor. Economics is such a delightful subject and he is an exponent. His sense of humour is remarkable. He talked about how reforms have affected industry in India. His arguments were clever and his topic was a good romp through the last 15 years in Indian economy.

Walter Mead told us about the US foreign policy over the years. I liked the speech because of its historical associations. He handled quite a few tricky questions too. US foreign policy is one of the most tough subjects to talk about especially in a patriotic audience.

Very recently, we had the Governor of Mizoram (himself an IIMC alumnus of the first batch) exhort on the virtues of entrepreneurship. He was fiercely patriotic and critical of the American dream. One of the major reasons for many people to take an MBA is to learn the skills that could be used to start and run a business. The risk propensity of individuals is built over the years and education by disseminating information can at best reduce the risks. I am sure my risk propensity is pretty low and I would need a big mindset change to even think of venturing on my own, leave alone the thousand non-starter reasons I would receive from people around me.

All this aside, I came upon this powerful article by Paul Graham on loving work. Here’s an excerpt, ” Finding work you love is very difficult. Most people fail. Even if you succeed, it’s rare to be free to work on what you want till your thirties or forties. But if you have the destination in sight you’ll be more likely to arrive at it. If you know you can love work, you’re in the home stretch, and if you know what work you love, you’re practically there.” Well, I don’t love the work I do so far!

Categories: Bschool
  1. A
    8 February 2006 at 7:14 am

    Tell me about it – I am still not completely decided about what I really want to do. All I do know definitely is that I DO NOT want to be doing what I am doing right now. No destination, no road to it. Sigh!

  2. sk
    8 February 2006 at 8:11 am

    Dude,
    I am not able to comment !!

  3. A
    8 February 2006 at 11:42 pm

    BTW, the article by Paul Graham was simply awesome!

  4. 9 February 2006 at 9:24 pm

    Wow, isn’t that a revamp to write home about 🙂

  5. 10 February 2006 at 7:50 am

    hey, A. happy to have you back in US 🙂

    yup. symphoney, ongoing changes :p

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

