Home > Books, Me > Morality anyone?

Morality anyone?

One advice I would like to follow is not to be moralistic šŸ™‚ I tend to judge people fast and stick to my opinions thick. I am conscious of this naive behaviour and have tried to reduce it, but it is so tough to be moralistic. It is easier to avoid being simplistic! Being moralistic makes me thick-headed, cynical, sarcastic and bitter. I have been telling myself and the big O (let’s say he’s a footballer) who showed us the Mallu mess in Mhow that I shall try not to be moralistic. It helps me to feel the unalloyed joys of other people.

Placements are the theme of the season in the management schools this time of the year. As is the case with me for most of the college fests or events, I don’t volunteer and prefer to stay happily in my room, venturing out for my daily quota of football and other bodily deeds. One such day the big O and I went for a ride down the road we discovered to the airport. Well, it goes through a village, some green fields, some stone quarries and does not touch the city at all. He tells me it reminds him of some Chenganoor in Malluland.

I led him up a horrible road through the stone quarries which looked ideal for film songs (like the “Ottagathai Kattiko” in Gentleman). I had him worried since his bike is new and the place became a maze. It was mysterious with few people in sight. We roamed around the quarries where we saw big pits, some stone cutting machines and a few souls who stared at us as if we were aliens. He cursed me for getting us lost. We asked some kind souls the way back to the road and reached it. Around Indore, you stumble upon a hillock (‘Tekhri’) if you go out any side. On the way back, we had wanted to sit on one of those roadside mini-walls and so we did.

The wall we had chosen was just opposite to a village ‘bandara’ where a public feast was happening. It reminded me of our village festivals where you slaughter goats and serve all the villagers. Those festivals are always full of lights, stalls where you got exotic food, full of people, fun games like those big merry-go-rounds which you see in theme parks these days, … We sat and observed all these simple folks having fun at their festival. It is fun watching people.

The next day we decided to go to eChoupal. I had read about Bercha (multiple variants of the name) lake near Mhow. After a customary juice at our favourite shop in Mhow, we enquired about the route to the lake. We went through the Mhow colleges which I last saw on the way to Choral Dam. Once we went past the beautiful landscape which has these military centres, we came to the point where you turn left to reach Choral. Bercha lake is on the road straight from that point, aptly named Berchha road. The lake is used by the military for training purposes and is named “Berchha Watermanship Area”.

We saw our national birds on the way. I have seen peacocks in the wild between Kovilpatti and Thoothukudi only before, that too while travelling by bus or by train. We never get to stop and see them. So it was a pleasure. We stopped and went back. There were more than five of them and they ran when they heard us. We decided to see them closely on our return trip, but we couldn’t. We reached the lake after asking a few people on the way. It had the big banyan tree as is expected of a decent picnic spot. The lake was deserted except for a lone young man who we had disturbed. We could see a boat at another end. We decided to check out, but when we saw the “restricted area” notice, we did not get inside. We returned through another route minus the peacocks and went straight to eChoupal where we had idlis and a pizza.

Returning to my post topic, I picked up the very interestingly titled “Morality for Beautiful Girls” a few days ago. The comments on the book called the book’s heroine the Miss Marple of Africa. I was hooked after a few pages. It is so cheerful and optimistic. Botswana is where the stories in this series take place and the author paints a beautiful picture of Africa through the eyes of the characters. There is good humour and there are thoughtful sentences through out the book. There are four other books of the same series in our library and I am determined to read all of them. By a curious coincidence, in one of these books, the author writes “Happiness is in the heads” which was my farewell mail and is my signature these days. Great minds think alike šŸ™‚

Categories: Books, Me
  1. 6 March 2006 at 4:47 pm

    Morality of Beautiful Girls. Had a hunch that it might be from the author of “The No.1 Ladies Detective Agency”. After I caught the words Botswana and Miss.Marple, I knew for sure. I am no misogynist, but I feel women detectives are a let down. Miss Marple, for sure was a let down. No where close to M.Hercule Poirot.

  2. 7 March 2006 at 4:16 pm

    hey kiki, it’s been a really looong time since i read these old-fashioned novels. i haven’t liked miss marple much too. i liked poirot better. but i am not liking these novels for their detectives. rather, it’s for the philosophical tidbits and the simple humour which make it a joy to read! btw, i have picked “Sunday Philosophy Club”. lemme see how it goes.

  3. 7 March 2006 at 7:21 pm

    IMHO, “The Murder of Roger Ackroyd” is the best of it’s kind I’ve ever read. BTW, I’ve picked up “The Solitaire Mystery”, from the same author who wrote “Sophie’s World”. Lemme see how it goes šŸ™‚ (This is what is called as shamelessly copying)

  4. gopi
    8 March 2006 at 3:29 pm

    I don’t know how you people are reading books related to philosophy. How is it going to be helpful? Anyway, have this http://plato.stanford.edu/contents.html

    I hate to hear “Sophie’s World”.

  5. 8 March 2006 at 5:17 pm

    hey kiki, the last anon is me. i remember reading “Roger Ackroyd” long time ago and i don’t rem anything now. as for the solitaire mystery, i saw it at our library and didn’t feel like getting it. let’s see hwo you rate it šŸ™‚

    gopi, check with alex on philosophy. šŸ˜‰

  6. Anonymous
    22 June 2011 at 1:41 am

    Bercha Lake is a beauty. It’s a pity you couldn’t go it. It gives the illusion that you’re the only people in the whole of Mhow… and there’s no one for miles around. šŸ™‚

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

