Home > Bschool > Holi ho…

Holi ho…

Holi – a festival I have only seen in Nayagan so colourfully. That ‘Andhi Mazhai’ song evokes such good feelings about Holi and down below we never celebrated Holi. Maybe, things are changing now, but not definitely to the grand celebrations that happen here. Talking about old days, Champak always brought out special issues for Holi and that’s how vicariously we knew Holi. Not that it made a difference to us. Holi and Rakshabandhan were alien concepts to us. Holi is one feel-good festival. Any event that includes water is bound to have fun and Holi has plenty of it. After getting to work, you are very careful about not spoiling your dresses. In Bangalore also I did not celebrate Holi that much and so I have never seen one proper Holi.

Holi is the only festival which we will celebrate just once on campus. Next year, by that time, the MBA would be over. The first day (Mar 14), we had a bonfire called Holika Dahan. It was pretty boring not like the fun I have read or seen playing Holi. The bonfire was followed by a special dinner, one of the few occasions when staff and students get together. We had one marketing plan for our first class the next day (Yes, no holiday on Holi day!) and I stayed upto 2am after a loong time. For a change, I did not be a free rider. It rained heavily overnight. Just like the peacocks who dance colorfully in the rain, we would play colourfully with water. 15 Mar. Our marketing prof was good enough not to give us another assignment on Holi Day. Soon after lunch and the customary mail check in the afternoon, I changed to my shabby shorts eagerly anticipating the fun (called Holi Dhuredi) that was to follow.

Every room seemed to be playing the “Rang Barse” song. I could already see war cries near our mess. People armed with buckets of water were wetting everyone in the vicinity. I walked to our bathroom to get ready. At the entrance, I was ambushed by two enthu Mallus who wetted me first. I got a bucket and filled it with water. Over to the battlefield. We were late. The path to the mess never looked so colourful. The early birds had their share of powder painted onto their faces. We were rolled on the floor and the fun just started. I grabbed some powder and tried to paint a few faces. Within a few minutes, everyone got pretty involved and wet colourful faces were the norm soon. The rubbing and the gay feeling climbed new heights as no one was to be spared. My first Holi was starting to be memorable.

Out came the syringes. Fill it, spray it and enjoy – the mantra of all lucky souls with a syringe. I also had my share of syringe delight. Light and popular boys were thrown into the drum, now full of coloured water. Any one who joined the party late was welcomed with lots of powder and water. There were so many colours – pink, red, yellow, … Some kind soul decided it is expose time and no shirts should be left standing. A lot of Tshirts were torn and poor guys who were wedded to their dresses were made sorry. Every boy flaunted his hairy chest, his beer belly and his brief show – that tiny bit which peeks outside. One had to be really careful not to wring the shirt out of a girl. One could not visibly make out a girl or guy unless they had distinct dresses.

More people joined the fray. It is so refreshing to have water poured when one is in a carnival mood. The mess and security folks had a gala time seeing us all in our silly bests. After the water fight and the colour throw, we decided to wind up with a free-for-all shirt blast. Get a shirt, aim and hit the next guy. Quite a few guys slipped down the watery grass, evoking a few laughs. Shirt-throwing at bare backs is a pain and a lot of gentle animosity got aroused. The fights ended with peace treaties, with signals of no-hits. This photo reveals a lot, doesn’t it? Holi

I took a 30minute bath and I still looked so coloured. The festival ended with a kabaddi game. I wanted to play, but did not. The game had its share of joy. What a playful end to a playful game! I bet, everyone wanted to have more rounds of the joyful festival 🙂

Categories: Bschool
  1. sk
    16 March 2006 at 7:27 pm

    oh my god!! Looks like u have lot of fun :))
    I cant recognize u in this pic 😦
    And I dont play Holi anymore, after the mishap of having my whole face painted in red, which took a while to come off with Kerosene.

  2. Me
    16 March 2006 at 8:51 pm

    omg….the photo says it all…..

    its going to take u days to remove those colors….esp the paste kind of stuff that stays longer….anyways no holi for me after i came out of high school….

  3. A
    16 March 2006 at 11:51 pm

    Wow – looks like you people had a graaaaannnddd time :-)! I can’t remember the last time I played holi :-(!

  4. 18 March 2006 at 6:08 am

    sk, you wont find me there 🙂

    me, the colors are going and going

    a, it’s probably the only time i shall play holi 😉

  5. 18 March 2006 at 7:53 pm

    Hmm… cool. Exactly like the picture we took last year. Good that the tradition continues… but how bad are the wall paints this year? Mess is in a mess I suppose?

    Anyway, keep writing… hope to catch with campus stuff thro ur blog. And pls let me knnow the URL of other bloggers of your batch.

  6. 18 March 2006 at 10:59 pm

    Thanks machi. Have added ur RSS feed too… just keep writing. Also pls let me know if there are serious bloggers among ur juniors after they arrive. We need to find ways to make ilife.blogdrive.com active… it’s getting quite a number of hits, but there are no updates.

  7. Me
    20 March 2006 at 10:55 pm

    aut ya sollavel la…

  8. 21 March 2006 at 7:11 am

    govar, rue that the mess is in a mess 🙂

    me, shoo… adhu top secret haha. will tell you once things get clear 🙂

  9. 23 March 2006 at 6:06 pm

    wow…great snap man….

  10. 23 March 2006 at 8:22 pm

    welcome ashok, your afghan pics are superb!

  11. 26 July 2006 at 4:17 am

    woul dlike to print this pic (with link to your web site of course) in a college textbook (Consumer Behavior by Banwari Mittal, Published by Open Mentis, USA). May I?
    And do you have high res image.

    more on me http://www.nku.edu/~mittal

    Need response soon as press deadline is here.

    Many thanks.

    Banwari Mital

  12. Gautam
    28 February 2008 at 1:59 am

    Hi,

    I am Gautam. I am working on a social message. Can I please use this pic for social awareness.

  13. 10 March 2008 at 11:14 pm

    Go ahead, Gautam

  14. frf
    16 March 2009 at 6:09 pm

    im doing a school project on holi but sadly do not know how to pronounce the name. can someone help me out?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

