Home > Bschool > One year up

One year up

It's almost a year since we joined here. The initial excitement of an MBA disappeared long back. I live a student's life without feeling like one. When I was asked by Abi's managers on what I do, I hesitated before I replied to being a student. It has to do with that detached way I've been leading my life ever since school.

Unlike some people who have a definite idea of what they should do with their MBAs and their lives, I live by accident. No wonder, I really didn't know what I wanted with the degree. Of course, anything distant and unknown appears so wonderful. "What do they teach at Bschool?" was the attitude I had when I joined here and I still wonder about that query. Some come here to switch their careers. Yes, if you work hard or are not stereotyped to be from a background. Some are here to put their careers on a fast track. I am not sure about what will happen to me. My experiment was more fun and less work.

Everyone's favourite question this year is "What is your specialization?". I try to escape saying the truth — the IIMs give a general degree. But when they insist, I just blabber. Hardcore finance requires analysis, woe to me. Also, I seem to have developed a resistance for numbers lately. Marketing even after two terms conjures strange visions in my mind. IT is a case of "been there, done that". As for HR, how can one possibly study it? It's all in my detached mind. I will end up doing a mix of most things.

Yes, I lack seriousness. I lack (hard) work. I lack passion. If there is one thing I keep learning, it's my sarcasm. I'm a natural. Between football on the ground and on the TV, our 2nd year has started and the destination is still as hazy as ever. Well, who cares about the roadmap, as long as the journey is delightful?

Categories: Bschool
  1. A
    19 June 2006 at 11:14 pm

    Well, who cares about the roadmap, as long as the journey is delightful?

    Right now, that seems to be my motto too :-D. Its rather a nice way of putting “I don’t really know what to do with my life” :-P!

  2. 20 June 2006 at 1:40 am

    The joy of being sarcastic is a deep and lasting one, and one never tires of it…

  3. 22 June 2006 at 9:50 pm

    wow a, you are damn right 🙂

    jj, haha

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

