Home > Travel > All it takes…

All it takes…

…is a visa. The wait is over! Having seen queues at the Gemini Flyover and heard of horror stories with interview dates at work, I have this uneasy feeling about getting a visa. Thank God, it’s the US visa which is so stringent. The NZ visa is such a breeze to get. The best part is you don’t have to move out of your place. It all started on this TT services site, which handles the outsourced(!) work for the NZ Immigration Office at New Delhi.

I duly fill in the forms. After getting all the required documents, I rush to the Indore GPO on a Monday evening (24 Jul) to ensure that it reaches them faster by Speedpost. The anxiety begins. Neither the Speedpost delivery site nor the movement site ever work. There is no receipt from TT services too in spite of my email request, adding to my anxiety. I call up the Speedpost guys for three days from 27 to 29, when they tell me it had been delivered on the 26th (at least, they were prompt with the delivery) though the site updates had never happened. Armed with this info, I mail the NZ Immigrations officers, who kindly acknowledge my visa application. I am relieved that at least my application is under processing.

A week passes and I enquire if it has been allocated to a visa officer. On the next Tue (8 Aug), I get many calls from the officer who has been allotted my application. We are not allowed to carry our mobiles to class and when I call her, I am not able to reach her too. After an exchange of missed calls, she speaks to me for about 4 minutes about my work and my MBA. Thus ends the interview. She advises that my application looks complete on her first scrutiny and makes me happy. Two days later, she clarifies my employee number. The same day, I again enquire if I can use this link to track the status of my application. Early next morning, she sends me an approval mail and says my passport will be despatched the same day. Yes, I get my student visa! I am joyous and profusely thank her. Most of the other exchange students have to go to Delhi for their French visas or US visas.

11 Aug (Fri). Visa approved. We have a two-day break in the following week, Independence Day and Janmashtami. I anxiously await my visa. I cannot tolerate the wait on Thu, when the passport has still not come. I enquire with my visa officer on the despatch details. Ah, it is Speedpost again. Blame my luck! Of course, the story repeats. The delivery tracker insists that there is no document by that description. If only Indiapost works on this… Luckily, I get my passport today. It has taken a week to reach our campus from Delhi by Speedpost (4 working days), when it took just 2 days to reach Delhi from the Indore GPO. That makes one visa less to apply. Thank God, I can apply for an Aussie visa at Auckland. Two Mondays later, all I will need is this visa to feel the Kiwi experience πŸ™‚

Categories: Travel
  1. sk
    18 August 2006 at 8:52 pm

    woohoo!! great!! Congrats! and have great fun! :–))

  2. A
    18 August 2006 at 11:25 pm

    Yeah, yeah :-D! Coooooooooooooooooool! Enjoy!

  3. 19 August 2006 at 6:43 am

    sk,a thanks for the wishes πŸ™‚ i hope i’ll be able to be regular here when i’m there πŸ˜‰

  4. Gopi
    21 August 2006 at 7:10 am

    have fun dude….

  5. 21 August 2006 at 1:28 pm

    thanks gopi.

  1. 28 September 2006 at 10:25 am

Leave a Reply

