Home > NZ, Travel > Sleeping with the sheep – B

Sleeping with the sheep – B

On the last night of the first trip, I finished my last packet of chicken noodles, my faithful companion on all my trips. The next morning I felt too lazy to take a bath (shower?). Having decided to have a delightful walk by the Pacific Ocean, I walk to the beach. There are so many old people taking their dogs on the beach. It reminds me of my Bangalore days when I felt that only if you have an odd combination of cars and dogs, you reach a ‘status’ in life. Mount Maungaui must also be a haven for retired folks. Sometimes, I make too many comparisons with Bangalore, but they all fit in. The old Bangalore was known for its salubrious climate through out the year. I also tell myself that somewhere on the other side of this mighty ocean lie my good blog mates like Archu. The beach always evokes pleasant memories. I have a long walk and lazily return to the hostel for our journey back to the City of Sails.

The bus starts sharp at 8.30am and we leave the beach resort town over the Tauranga Harbour Bridge. We pass through Waihi, a gold mining town in those olden times of the ‘gold rush’. There is a vintage railway plying these times and I love all those rail things, but I don’t have the time and stick to looking at it yearningly. The driver tells us once the gold mine goes out of use, it will be made into a lake so that it attracts tourists and the town lives longer. How they see everything from a tourist view! Karangahake Gorge is our first stop for the day. It links Waihi and Paeroa and the drive through it is simply amazing. The swing bridge across the Gorge shakes as we jump on it and makes our day. We spend a quiet 10 minutes near the bridge.

Our next halt for our morning tea is Paeroa, home to the ‘world famous in NZ since ages ago’ Lemon and Paeroa, a local soft drink now owned by Coca Cola. There are 2 big bottles of L&P which distingish the town. We stop at the new big bottle cafe. I get to touch the rugby ball, another iconic object in NZ. The driver teaches me how to pass it. I have been watching a little bit of rugby on TV, NZ even has a Rugby Channel. I would love to play it some day before I leave. We pass the ball for about 10 minutes. After that, it is a simple long drive to Auckland. Once in the city, we go to the Auckland Harbour Bridge, for a quick photo shoot. I am reminded of the genial Aussie-Kiwi rivalry which makes them compete for the longer Harbour Bridge and the sweet dessert pavlova among many other things. It has been 5 days since I left my home and it really feels nice to be back at home, relaxing inside and outside my classes. That’s the update for this week.

I’m off to South Island tomorrow, the best part of NZ in most peoples’ opinion. I indulge in my rail lusts, with trips on the magnificent TranzCoastal and the TranzAlpine trains, world famous just like every other thing in NZ, a visit to the only French settlement in NZ, Akaroa on the splendid Banks Peninsula and a dolphin watch cruise. This is my 1st DIY holiday here, which makes it more special. When I am back, I shall put the best pictures onto flickr for your sensual delights. Till then, have fun.

Categories: NZ, Travel
  1. A
    21 September 2006 at 6:08 pm

    Well I wish I was on the other side of the ocean vacationing too! Looks like you are having the time of your life!

    Awesome pics – looking forward to a whole lot more!

  2. sk
    23 September 2006 at 1:27 am

    Sparkie,
    NZ la edhadhu edam vittu vaichiya? ;–) Its a small country and looks like you havent left an inch of it :–))
    You are making me J!!

  3. Mahesh
    24 September 2006 at 2:41 am

    Mama!! enna new zealand le settlement panna mari theriudhu 😛

  4. 28 September 2006 at 12:15 pm

    dear a, you know i’m here to study 😉
    sk, noo noo. lotsa places i shall not see once i finish my travels. Mt. Cook/glaciers/Abel Tasman National park, … these are the ones i shall regret mostly.
    ama pa mahesh, sema vilaiyattu. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

