Home > Books > Off-shore books

Off-shore books

Just to clarify this trip is not all about travel. India means the shore to me. The very first evening I landed in Auckland, I ended up spending some time in the Central Library. One look at the place and I am awe-struck. I can spend a whole day blissfully here, I tell myself. Membership is free to all Auckland residents. That’s where their taxes go, how sweet! I check with my friends and soon I visit the Pakuranga (my suburb) library with my host, who is also an avid book reader. The Penguin History of NZ is the recommended book. It makes for easy reading and I get a quick idea of the (short) history. Kiwiana is another NZ book, remnant of Kiwi icons. I walk often to the Pakuranga library (30 min) amidst planning and actually travelling. On one such day, I pick up “All in the Names”, an originally Portuguese novel. I am not able to finish it in one sitting and promise to come back for finishing it. Thanks to Jax’s recommendation, I also look for Umberto Eco’s books. None of his famous novels are here in the library.

So when I end up in the Uni of Queensland’s library (which was huge), I pick up “The Name of the Rose”, Eco’s symbolic thriller. In optimism, I hope to finish the book in my short 6-day trip. But I am so full of travel that I can only read 100 pages out of the 500. It is heavy reading, with the various Christian sects and the neat philosophical bent. Any thing which has a good philosophical interest no doubt attracts me. I take it to Fiji and back to Auckland. After struggling in the middle, the end is quite racy and gripping. I love the novel and I will get my copy once I am on-shore. I must read Eco’s other books. For the time, I have to find out how to ship it back to Brisbane. Madhan, as among several great things, has made me discover the brilliance of Eco.

Categories: Books
  1. Jax
    27 October 2006 at 5:38 pm

    I hoped you liked the book. 🙂

  2. 28 October 2006 at 6:19 pm

    what do you make out of the post? of course, i loved it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

